Every journey begins with a first step ...

The Jerusalem Way is the world's longest pilgrimage and international peace and culture route!

The Jerusalem Way connects religions and peoples in a unique peace project.

The Jerusalem Way stands for mutual recognition and tolerance.

Love, the most powerful force in the universe, penetrates, illuminates everything and builds bridges between all people!

 

Pilgrims create openness to encounters, dismantle prejudices and fears and strengthen trust - basic trust! The supposed boundaries between peoples and religions can be bridged by individuals with love and mutual respect.

Aschach an der Donau - Wilhering Abbey
18,67 km / ↓ 244 m / ↑ 249 m
Translate to other languages Show map in full screen mode

height profile


Features XNUMX

Stage 4: Aschach an der Donau - Wilhering Abbey

 

This stage is deliberately a little shorter, so we can arrive at Wilhering Abbey in the afternoon. This gives us time for sightseeing, prayer, meditation, washing clothes, etc. 

 

The route is basically flat today and always near the Danube until we finally reach Ottensheim. In Ottensheim we cross the Danube with a ferry, then follow the signs on the other side of the Danube to the left and shortly afterwards see the Cistercian Abbey of Wilhering. Link Wilhering Abbey

 

Important information: At Wilhering Abbey, the main route of the Jerusalem Way reaches the Danube for the first time! So here is an important hub! Our feeder route coming from Germany joins the Jerusalem Way coming from Spain exactly at Wilhering Abbey and connects to a common path. Link GPS map Austria

 

The Danube will accompany us on to Belgrade, sometimes very close and sometimes from a distance. The longest river in Europe will therefore be our "guideline" on the pilgrimage to Jerusalem for many more weeks. The distance from here to Jerusalem is about 5000 km...

 

This distance is almost unimaginable, so we prefer to look to the present day and go to the gate of the monastery. At the gate we can look for a place in the Pilgrim room ask and there is one too Pilgrim stamp! As mentioned at the beginning, we have some time today to visit the monastery complex, it is very worthwhile!

 

By the way, tomorrow we deliberately have a short stage again, this gives us time for the state capital Linz! We will need the time tomorrow, because Linz is European Capital of Culture and has been since 1986 City of Peace! There are therefore a lot of attractions, an additional day of rest should be considered.

 

DOWNLOAD GPS ROUTE ON MOBILE PHONE


Places along the route

Aschach an der Donau - Feldkirchen / Badeseen - Ottensheim - Wilhering Abbey


Pictures

Facts & Figures

Distance: 18,67 km
Difference in altitude: 32 m
Highest point: 278 m
Lowest point: 246 m
Total ascent: 249 m
Total descent: 244 m

Alles beginnt mit dem ersten Schritt ...

Der Jerusalemweg ist der weltweit längste Pilgerweg und internationale Friedens- und Kulturroute!

Der Jerusalemweg verbindet Religionen und Völker in einem einzigartigen Friedensprojekt.

Der Jerusalemweg steht für gegenseitige Anerkennung und Toleranz.

Die Liebe, die stärkste Kraft des Universums, durchdringt, durchlichtet alles und baut Brücken zwischen allen Menschen!

 

Pilgern schafft Offenheit für Begegnungen, baut Vorurteile sowie Ängste ab und stärkt das Vertrauen – das Urvertrauen! Die vermeintlichen Grenzen zwischen Völkern und Religionen können von einzelnen Menschen in Liebe und gegenseitigem Respekt überbrückt werden.

Aschach an der Donau - Stift Wilhering
18,67 km / ↓ 244 m / ↑ 249 m
Translate in other languages Karte im Vollbild-Modus anzeigen

Höhenprofil


Beschreibung

Etappe 4: Aschach an der Donau - Stift Wilhering

 

Diese Etappe ist bewusst etwas kürzer, dadurch können wir nachmittags beim Stift Wilhering ankommen. Dies gibt uns Zeit für Besichtigungen, zum Gebet, Meditieren, Wäsche waschen, etc. 

 

Die Route verläuft im Grunde heute flach und immer nahe der Donau entlang bis wir schließlich Ottensheim erreichen. In Ottensheim überqueren wir mit einer Fähre die Donau, folgen dann auf der anderen Seite der Donau links der Beschilderungsehen und sehen kurz darauf schon das Zisterzienserstift Wilhering. Link Stift Wilhering

 

Wichtige Info: Beim Stift Wilhering erreicht die Hauptroute des Jerusalem Way zum ersten Mal die Donau! Somit ist hier ein wichtiger Knotenpunkt! Unser aus Deutschland kommende Zubringerweg mündet exakt beim Stift Wilhering in den aus Spanien kommenden Jerusalem Way und verbindet sich zu einem gemeinsamen Weg. Link GPS Karte Österreich

 

Die Donau wird uns weiter bis Belgrad begleiten, mal ganz nahe und mal aus der Ferne. Der längste Fluss Europas wird also noch für viele Wochen unsere "Richtschnur" am Pilgerweg nach Jerusalem sein. Etwa 5000 km ist die Strecke von hier bis Jerusalem...

 

Diese Distanz ist fast unvorstellbar, daher blicken wir lieber auf den heutigen Tag und gehen zur Pforte des Klosters. Bei der Pforte können wir nach einem Platz im Pilgerzimmer fragen und es gibt auch einen Pilgerstempel! Wie anfangs erwähnt haben wir heute etwas Zeit um auch die Klosteranlage zu besichtigen, dies lohnt sich sehr!

 

Morgen haben wir übrigens nochmals bewusst eine kurze Etappe, dies gibt uns Zeit für Landeshauptstadt Linz! Die Zeit morgen werden wir brauchen, denn Linz ist europäische Kulturhauptstadt und ist zugleich seit dem Jahr 1986 Friedensstadt! Es gibt daher eine Menge an Sehenswürigkeiten, ein zusätzlicher Ruhetag sollte in Betracht gezogen werden.

 

DOWNLOAD GPS ROUTE AM HANDY


Orte entlang der Route

Aschach an der Donau - Feldkirchen / Badeseen - Ottensheim - Stift Wilhering


Bilder

Daten & Fakten

Distanz: 18,67 km
Höhendifferenz: 32 m
Höchster Punkt: 278 m
Tiefster Punkt: 246 m
Gesamtaufstieg: 249 m
Gesamtabstieg: 244 m