Every journey begins with a first step ...

The Jerusalem Way is the world's longest pilgrimage and international peace and culture route!

The Jerusalem Way connects religions and peoples in a unique peace project.

The Jerusalem Way stands for mutual recognition and tolerance.

Love, the most powerful force in the universe, penetrates, illuminates everything and builds bridges between all people!

 

Pilgrims create openness to encounters, dismantle prejudices and fears and strengthen trust - basic trust! The supposed boundaries between peoples and religions can be bridged by individuals with love and mutual respect.

Roncesvalles - FRANCE - Saint Jean
24,44 km / ↓ 1479 m / ↑ 707 m
Translate to other languages Show map in full screen mode

height profile


Description

With this stage we leave Spain and come to the next country on the Jerusalem Way: France! At the same time we reach the culmination point / the high point of our Pyrenees crossing today at more than 1.400 meters above sea level. The next high pass awaits us again in Austria. At 1.800 meters above sea level, the Arlberg Pass is even higher than our current pass here in the Pyrenees.

 

Today we also end the section that many pilgrims refer to as "The Way of St. James". But as I said at the first stage in Finisterre, we made pilgrimages from west to east. This gave us "our backs" and new encounters with pilgrims from all over the world every day.

 

By the way, crossing the Pyrenees is easier for us than in the opposite direction, because the Santa Maria de Roncevalles monastery is significantly higher than our stage destination St. Jean-Pied-de-Port. Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port is already in France, it goes back to a Roman settlement and today lives mainly from the privileged location on the pilgrimage route. Many pilgrims start the Camino de Santiago here, it is no longer a place to be alone with yourself, many pilgrims cavort in the alleys here.

 

DOWNLOAD GPS ROUTE ON MOBILE PHONE


Places along the route

Colegiata de Santa María de Roncesvalles (E) - Burregueta - Peak - Col de Bentarte - Border - Pic Urdanarré - Col D'Elhursaro - Pic D'Hastateguy - Itchachéguy - Cabanes de Landarré - Othatzen Borda - Borde D'Orisson - Hounto - Erreculus - Etchebestéa - Etcheverrigaraya - Othatzénéa - Portaleburu - Saint-Jean Pied-de-Port (F)


Pictures

Facts & Figures

Distance: 24,44 km
Difference in altitude: 1.266 m
Highest point: 1434 m
Lowest point: 168 m
Total ascent: 707 m
Total descent: 1479 m

Alles beginnt mit dem ersten Schritt ...

Der Jerusalemweg ist der weltweit längste Pilgerweg und internationale Friedens- und Kulturroute!

Der Jerusalemweg verbindet Religionen und Völker in einem einzigartigen Friedensprojekt.

Der Jerusalemweg steht für gegenseitige Anerkennung und Toleranz.

Die Liebe, die stärkste Kraft des Universums, durchdringt, durchlichtet alles und baut Brücken zwischen allen Menschen!

 

Pilgern schafft Offenheit für Begegnungen, baut Vorurteile sowie Ängste ab und stärkt das Vertrauen – das Urvertrauen! Die vermeintlichen Grenzen zwischen Völkern und Religionen können von einzelnen Menschen in Liebe und gegenseitigem Respekt überbrückt werden.

Roncesvalles - FRANCE - Saint Jean
24,44 km / ↓ 1479 m / ↑ 707 m
Translate in other languages Karte im Vollbild-Modus anzeigen

Höhenprofil


Beschreibung

Mit dieser Etappe verlassen wir Spanien und kommen somit in das nächste Land am Jerusalemweg: Frankreich! Zugleich erreichen wir heute den Kulminationspunkt / den Höhepunkt unserer Pyrenäen-Überquerung mit mehr als 1.400 Meter Seehöhe. Der nächste hohe Pass erwartet uns erst wieder in Österreich. Der Arlberg Pass ist mit 1.800 Meter Seehöhe sogar noch um einiges höher als unser heutiger Pass hier in den Pyrenäen.

 

Wir beenden heute auch jenen Abschnitt, den viele Pilger als «Der Jakobsweg» bezeichnen. Aber wie bereits bei der ersten Etappe in Finisterre gesagt, sind wir von West nach Ost gepilgert. Dadurch hatten wir den "Rücken frei" und jeden Tag neue Begegnungen mit Pilgern aus aller Welt.

 

Übrigens, die Pyrenäen-Überquerung ist für uns einfacher als in der umgekehrten Richtung, denn das Kloster Santa Maria de Roncevalles liegt deutlich höher als unser Etappenort St. Jean-Pied-de-Port. Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port liegt bereits in Frankreich, es geht auf eine römische Siedlung zurück und lebt heute vorwiegend von der privilegierten Lage am Pilgerweg. Hier starten viele Pilger den Jakobsweg, es ist kein Ort mehr um mit sich selbst allein zu sein, viele Pilger tummeln sich hier in den Gassen.

 

DOWNLOAD GPS ROUTE AM HANDY


Orte entlang der Route

Colegiata de Santa María de Roncesvalles (E) - Burregueta - Peak - Col de Bentarte - Grenze - Pic Urdanarré - Col D'Elhursaro - Pic D'Hastateguy - Itchachéguy - Cabanes de Landarré - Othatzen Borda - Borde D'Orisson - Hounto - Erreculus - Etchebestéa - Etcheverrigaraya - Othatzénéa - Portaleburu - Saint-Jean Pied-de-Port (F)


Bilder

Daten & Fakten

Distanz: 24,44 km
Höhendifferenz: 1.266 m
Höchster Punkt: 1434 m
Tiefster Punkt: 168 m
Gesamtaufstieg: 707 m
Gesamtabstieg: 1479 m